Tomes of Cthulhu

Tomes of CthulhuThis supplement details 20 different books suitable for horror games based around the works of H. P. Lovecraft. These books are similar to the dread tomes often referred to in the Lovecraftian Mythos, holders of forbidden knowledge, sometimes new but more often from antiquity.

There are 20 books, but many come in more than one edition, or are based on prior works or findings, so there are more than 20 in total. The books are system agnostic and will work with most systems. They are described in detail, including their appearance, language and what knowledge they might contain, both specific knowledge of certain entities and general knowledge, assuming that all Lovecraftian horror games use knowledge of the Mythos and sanity.

The books are written in different eras. The most modern of the primary sources is 1938, but most are written prior to the 1930s, often well prior, with a number of secondary editions published in the 19th century. Some are by genuine historical characters, but the books are not. One book itself is actually real.

Here are some of the book titles:

The Book of Doggerland, also available as Mystic Secrets of the Lost Realm of Doggerland and Lost Mysteries

On a Quest for Egypt’s Black Pharaoh by Alan D. Fitzhugh

Philosophiæ Alchimia Principia Mathematica by Isaac Newton, also available as Mathematical Principles of Alchemy

Reviews for Tomes of Cthulhu

“This is an extremely well-done bit of Keeper prep that saves the busy Keeper quite a bit of time and effort.”

Jeffrey V. (five stars)

Released: 1st October 2016 Pages: 40

PDF ($2.99): DriveThruRPG, RPGNow

Publishing RPG Supplements to Help GMs